by Alisha Davidson, Ph.D.
ML&SA Research and Development Coordinator

The splendor of Michigan’s inland lakes is undeniable; their clean waters, diverse wildlife and serene beauty are natural treasures. Such treasures, however, require active and informed stewardship by the individuals who enjoy them. This stewardship can take many forms, from individuals who foster natural shorelines on their property, to watershed councils that act to reduce runoff. While these individual and collective efforts are essential in protecting Michigan’s inland lakes, ML&SA would like to recognize the lake associations that complete the ‘trifecta’ of ML&SA-related stewardship activities. The three activities are: membership in ML&SA, participation in the MiCorps Cooperative Lakes Monitoring Program (CLMP) and attendance (by one or more association representatives) at the annual ML&SA conference. Each of these three activities is important elements of lake stewardship. Membership in ML&SA supports the variety of educational, stewardship and conservation initiatives undertaken by the association, such as workshops and brochures on best management practices for lakes and streams, legal briefs related to water rights and obtaining grant money to expand the Clean Boats, Clean Waters Program. Participation in the CLMP provides an understanding of water quality at both the individual lake and statewide level. Finally, attendance at the ML&SA annual conference (or the joint Michigan Lakes Inland Lakes Convention) provides individuals who use lakes and streams with the latest resources and knowledge necessary to help protect our inland waters.

Michigan Lake and Stream Associations would like to recognize the lake associations that have engaged in each of these activities in 2015 (please contact alishad@mlswa.org if you think your lake should be added to the list):

1. Big Crooked Lake, Kent County (CLMP for 5 years)
2. Big Fish Lake, Leelanau County (CLMP for 9 years)
3. Big Star Lake, Lake County (CLMP for 38 years)
4. Birch Lake, Cass County (CLMP for 16 years)
5. Cedar Lake, Van Buren County (CLMP for 21 years)
6. Crockery Lake, Ottawa County (CLMP for 22 years)
7. Crystal Lake, Benzie County (CLMP for 41 years)
8. Crystal Lake, Montcalm County (CLMP for 15 years)
9. Devils and Round Lake, Lenawee County (CLMP for 19 years)
10. Eagle Lake, Cass County (CLMP for 41 years)
11. Farwell Lake, Jackson County (CLMP for 27 years)
12. Glen Lake, Leelanau County (CLMP for 36 years)
13. Greater Wall Lake, Barry County (CLMP for 1 year)
14. Gull Lake, Kalamazoo County (CLMP for 6 years)
15. Higgins Lake, Roscommon County (CLMP for 41 years)
16. Lake George, Clare County (CLMP for 23 years)
17. Lake Manitou, Shiawassee County (CLMP for 1 year)
18. Long Lake, Gogebic County (CLMP for 10 years)
19. Loon Lake, Iosco County (1st year in CLMP)
20. Magician Lake, Cass County (CLMP for 35 years)
21. Murray Lake, Kent County (CLMP for 23 years)
22. Muskellunge Lake, Montcalm County (CLMP for 21 years)
23. Portage, Base & Whitewood Lakes (CLMP for 39 years)
24. Pentwater Lake, Oceana County (CLMP for 20 years)
25. Perch Lake, Iron County (CLMP for 6 years)
26. Portage Lake, St Joseph County (1st year in CLMP)
27. Sanford Lake, Midland County (CLMP for 13 years)
28. Torch Lake, Antrim County (CLMP for 22 years)
29. East and West Twin Lakes, Montmorency County (CLMP for 22 years)
30. Van Etten Lake, Iosco County (CLMP for 29 years)
31. White Lake, Muskegon County (CLMP for 2 years)
32. Windover Lake, Clare County (CLMP for 22 years)

2nd United States Court of Appeals Orders EPA to Rewrite Ballast Water Discharge Rules
Michigan Crayfish – Understanding Our Native and Invasive Species